Prevent opening hyperlinks in single click

Do you want to: Suggest a feature | Ask a how-to question
For feature suggestions, describe the result you would like to achieve in detail: Open links with only with CTRL + Right-click
Community Server/Control Panel version: ONLYOFFICE Desktop Editors version 7.1.0.215
Browser version: Firefox 104.0.2 (64-bit)

I’m new to OnlyOffice. How to open hyperlinks with CTRL+Right-click? I’m working on Spreadsheet right now, and it’s annoying when clicking a cell with hyperlinks, it opens the link instead of just selecting the cell.

Click-and-holding just breaks the functionality of using a mouse.

1 Like

Hello @snich
We are checking the situation. We need some time to discuss it internally. I will update this thread when we have something to share.

We have checked described situation. This is expected behavior. If you want to choose a cell with a link, please try to hold left-click on the cell till the cursor changes.

Hi Alexandre, we see our users of OnlyOffice are getting tripped by the current hyperlink cell click implementation. Almost every time a new user arrives to the platform, coming from other spreadsheet software, they visit a URL by accident. The expectation that clicking anywhere in a spreadsheet cell selects that cell is not met resulting in an inconsistent user experience. Some users went as far as comparing the current implementation to a form of clickjacking.

The unmet expectation has multiple origins but primarily inconsistency with other spreadsheet platforms where clicking a cell always translates to selecting the cell. As snich mentioned above, it is more common to have the “visit URL” behaviour not be the default when working with a spreadsheet. Ctrl+click being one of the possible alternative interactions.

Another unexpected situation is when the cell contains more than one URL. The correct behaviour is unclear resulting in confusion.