Integrate Onlyoffice in Mattermost

Hi, i’m a student working on a project to create a social network with document handling capabilities. After some research, i’ve found that i can use OnlyOffice integrated with Mattermost.

Here’s what i have so far:

• A virtual private server
  • A domain name
  • Self-signed certificates for the domain from Let’s Encrypt
  • A Mattermost installation with Docker (which also provides an Nginx configuration)
  • Mattermost is on port :8065
  • Nginx on :443 and :80

I need to add OnlyOffice to this setup, preferably as a Docker installation.

I’ve made two attempts both related to guides for installing OnlyOffice with docker, but i wasn’t able to get it working in either case. In both instances, i used the same virtual private server and domain name (making sure to choose available ports), for document server i’ve used 8443:443 and 8081:80.

1. Using “docker run" this guide, i was able to run OnlyOffice over HTTPS. However, when i tried to connect the plugin in Mattermost, it didn’t work.
  2. Using “docker compose" this guide, OnlyOffice only runs over HTTP and i couldn’t get it to work over HTTPS. When i tried to connect to the plugin in Mattermost, it worked. I saw the “Open file in OnlyOffice” and “change access right” options with the new document icon, but when i tried to open a document, the editor didn’t show up and displayed a “something went wrong” message.

I apologize for the lengthy message, but i’m trying to make things as clear as possible. I also know that I’ve not posted any error or log, but i thought that it would be better to first choose which installation to go with. So, my questions are:

• Is it possible to make this setup work using the same virtual private server and domain name?
  • Which installation method would you recommend?

Hi @Vincenzo

1. We recommend separating the Document Server and Document Manager onto different servers.