Installing Only Office - Newbie

Hi…

I’m new to OnlyOffice and have questions around installation. Hoping I can learn from others. I’ve been reading some of the documentation and it looks like the install installs MySQL and Postgre database servers on the same system. This seems like a area where bottlenecking and performance could become a concern. Am I overthinking that or should those really be installed on separate servers and then the installation point to those servers? Is that even allowed or supported?

Any insight would be appreciated. The install will be Windows based (sorry, my Linux skills are not strong enough to run it company wide, if the POC is successful).

Thanks
Joe

Hello @cavj1
Sorry for the late reply, we are checking the situation.
I will come back as soon as possible.

It seems that it should work. During the installation step of prerequisites, please uncheck MySQL. This way, the database won’t be installed locally. Instead there will be a new window with a suggestion to specify an external database.

As for Postgres, you need to change default.json file, this section:

"sql": {
                                "type": "postgres",
                                "tableChanges": "doc_changes",
                                "tableResult": "task_result",
                                "dbHost": "localhost",
                                "dbPort": 5432,
                                "dbName": "onlyoffice",
                                "dbUser": "onlyoffice",
                                "dbPass": "onlyoffice",
                                "charset": "utf8",
                                "connectionlimit": 10,
                                "max_allowed_packet": 1048575,
                                "pgPoolExtraOptions": {}
  • edit line "type": "postgres", to necessary type in case if you have installed some other DB type. Supported types: postgres, mariadb, oracle or mysql
  • edit "dbPort" and dbHost to necessary values